Fsbuild-2 Flight Planner

Fsbuild 2 support forum
It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 4:22 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: RTE format
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:11 pm
Posts: 22
I have just bought the PMDG 747 v3 but try as I may, I cannot get the flight plan to appear in the FMC.
As far as I can see, it only produces a PLN file and not an RTE which PMDG needs.
Any ideas welcomed.

Ian Harrison


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RTE format
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:39 pm
Posts: 596
Hi,

Have you read the documentation provided with FSBuild - specifically, the User Guide? If not, you are missing a lot. Open the application, select the "Export to..." menu item and check the PMDG737/747/... item, then select the "Options" node in the treeview of Folder Items and make sure the path to your FS installation is set in the first row of the Export Directories - use the "Browse" button to find it. Then click the "Settings" tab and select "PMDG 737NG" in the options tree and then press the "SAVE CONFIG OPTIONS" button.

Having done that you will find the plan in the FSROOT/PMDG/FLIGHTPANS folder when you generate a flight plan in FSB.

DJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RTE format
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:11 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks for the help. I did all that you suggested but all I get is the dreaded "unable to create......" message for the rte file. It will create an FSX xml PLN file, though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RTE format
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:39 pm
Posts: 596
Hi,

You are getting that message because 1. You don't have the required permissions (run FSB from the right click menu "run as administrator") and/or 2. You have misspecified your FS base path which should point to the root FS directory. The fact that you are getting the message indicates that you have successfully told the program that you want to create the file. The PLN file gets created because "My Documents" doesn't require the permissions that writing anything in the "Program Files (x86)" directory does.

DJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RTE format
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 7:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:11 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks again.
It wasn't permissions but the folder I had created was 3 levels down and it couldn't find it.
Once I simplified the path all is now fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group