Fsbuild-2 Flight Planner

Fsbuild 2 support forum
It is currently Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:05 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Missing Sid/Star's
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 10:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3893
Location: NJ, USA
If you encounter a situation where you have the correct Airport selected, but the Sid/Star you are expecting to see is not being displayed on the menu.

Consider these things in this order.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

1) Some Sid/Stars's are runway specific. Fsbuild follows this convention and does not Display all the Sid/Stars, but only the Sid/Star for the currently selected runway. You may want to check the runway menu and see if changing the runway results in displaying the Sid/Star you wer expecting to see.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

2) The Sid/Star database is indexed. It is possible the Index needs to be updated, especially after a Navdata update, this may be necessary. If the Index is off enough,Fsbuild may possibly not show all of the Sid/Stars on the menu.

To update the Navdata indexes

Go to the Options page / Navdata tab, and press the 'Create Fsbuild2 Navdata Indexes' button.

After the index build is complete, you'll need to shut down, and restart Fsbuild for the new indexes to take effect.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

3) Though Fsbuild has a large database of Sids and Stars, it does not contain every single one. Its possible its not in the database to confirm this use a text editor to open and view the .fsb_sid.txt or fsb_stars.txt files in your Fsbuild folder.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Regards.
Ernie.


Last edited by ErnieAlston on Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Thanks
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 1:54 am 
Thanks! This fixed my problem. Rebuit the index and all was fine with the SIDS and STARS.

Dennis


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 6:08 pm 
This may be a dumb question, but I'm new to the whole FS thing and FSBuild. I was wondering where the RedEye STAR is for LAX. Is there an equivilant that I'm just not aware of? I just know its the only approach you can make after a certain time due to noise abadement.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3893
Location: NJ, USA
Danny T. wrote:
This may be a dumb question, but I'm new to the whole FS thing and FSBuild. I was wondering where the RedEye STAR is for LAX. Is there an equivilant that I'm just not aware of? I just know its the only approach you can make after a certain time due to noise abadement.


The Redeye Star is in there.

But will only display on the list when you have the east runways selected (ie rwy 6/7's). It will not display if you have the 24's/25's selected as the arrival runway.

Regards.
Ernie.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: adding SID's and STAR's
PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 12:09 pm 
Is it true that one can add SID's and STAR's by editing these database text files?

If yes, is there a spot to find information and/or a tutorial on this subject.

Thanks
William


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 3:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3893
Location: NJ, USA
PH-WCS wrote:
Is it true that one can add SID's and STAR's by editing these database text files?

If yes, is there a spot to find information and/or a tutorial on this subject.

Thanks
William


Its on the tutorial page

http://www.fsbuild.com/fsbtut.html

Item #9.

Regards.
Ernie.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 3:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3893
Location: NJ, USA
FC5452 wrote:
Ernie,

This has probably been asked as well, IE: The Flcon1 RNAV MOL Transition into KATL, IS Layed out for East Landing Operations, Is It possible to Create a star for West Operations?


You'd have to specify which waypoints apply to which runway. It wouldn't be a separate STAR but it would be treated as a transition for that runway.

See the example below..

Code:
TORON3        TORON         ---       
TORON3        ATHLO         12000
TORON3        BAIRS         ---         10,28,34
TORON3        YYC           ---         34



The 4th column can be usd to specify which waypoints apply to certain runways. When you select a destination runway in Fsbuild, when building the route it will use the waypoints that apply to the selected runway and exclude the rest.

Regards.
Ernie.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: KLAS to KDEN "STAR"
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 5:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 7:41 am
Posts: 16
Now, after reading the previous post this is beginning to make some sense...For example I used FSBUILD to automatically design a flight pattern from KLAS to KDEN...KLAS AACES2 DVC POWDR5 KDEN

KLAS 25R....KDEN 35R

I am flying the PMDG MD-11 and the flight pattern was sucessfully loaded into the FMS...

POWDR5 "star" must have been wrong because when I approached 35R I was on a angle...

I am a newbie...So maybe someone with more experience about using FSBUILD can tell me what I did wrong...Maybe I should get out the charts and manually setup the course using FSBUILD instead of letting the program design the flight plan...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sid/Star's
PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 11:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 2:56 pm
Posts: 1053
Location: KDTW
A STAR takes you to the ... say 40nm from the airport.

You have to "add" an approach transition, and a runway specific approach (ILS34 e.g.) in the (FMC) that will take you from the end of the STAR (40nm from the airport) to the beginning of the Approach Transition for the runway you want.

FSBuild does not do Approach Transitions or Approaches.

_________________
Vaughan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sid/Star's
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 3:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 6:25 am
Posts: 8
With the new AIRACs and 2.4 updates, the problem seems to be back.

As an example, put in DTW-MSP, and look at the STAR list. EAU8, for example, is missing but only on specific runways when it's a procedure that isn't tied to any specific runway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sid/Star's
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 5:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3893
Location: NJ, USA
olseric wrote:
With the new AIRACs and 2.4 updates, the problem seems to be back.

As an example, put in DTW-MSP, and look at the STAR list. EAU8, for example, is missing but only on specific runways when it's a procedure that isn't tied to any specific runway.


That's a data source provider issue (Navigraph) not really Fsbuild. Fsbuild is reading the data correctly.

Removing the 'T' line for the Star in the file will cause it to be applied to all runways. Or add all the runways to the list on the 'T' line, either will work. But to fix this permanantly you have to go to the source.

T EAU8 EAU8 12L,12R

Regards.
Ernie.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sid/Star's
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 7:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 7:20 am
Posts: 2
The 4th column can be usd to specify which waypoints apply to certain runways. When you select a destination runway in Fsbuild, when building the route it will use the waypoints that apply to the selected runway and exclude the rest.

_____________________

Lunettes Carrera


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sid/Star's
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 7:57 am
Posts: 1
Consider these things in this order.


long cheongsam


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Sid/Star's
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:23 am
Posts: 2
This may be a dumb question, but I'm new to the whole FS thing and FSBuild.

_________________
Cheap True Religion


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group